An adventure across the pond, and back into time to explore how culture and environment affect health

A Bucolic Adventure

Over the hill and through the woods...

Hello again!

Its hard to believe another week has gone by. A week or so ago, I happened upon a beautiful day and realized that I needed to take advantage of the last gasps of fall. I laced up my running shoes, blissfully unaware of the local wildlife about to be introduced in my life and with my ponytail bouncing, set off down the road paved with golden leaves and lined with trees gently guiding me on. However, my intrepid nature decided it was time to bud, even though I tried unsuccessfully to explain that it had its seasons wrong. This was autumn, not spring…

But adventure won out and I took the road less traveled by; on a trail that led over the hill and through the woods… but, unfortunately, to my grandmother’s house I did not go. She must have had something to do with this though because I know of absolutely no one else with such an unfailing and, lets be honest, unrequited love of cows. This road less traveled by wound around and through the little gate shown in the picture above, at which point I looked up and realized I was in the middle of a cow pasture, complete with cow pies and adorable baby calf’s suckling on their mothers. Of course, channeling my mother (generational influences here??), I had to pull out my camera, which for some inexplicable reason I had thought imperative to bring on my run.

One of the cute calves became interested in me and came closer to investigate this strange person with an odd contraption in her hands. I obligingly moved closer to this little one as well to say hello. Just as I was getting closer to take a better picture, the mother decided that she had had quite enough of my presence. Sidling up next to me, she bumped my back, a little nudge and the look in her eyes blatantly saying, “No more pictures, woman”. As I started to back away, she started to follow me, increasing speed as I increased speed, racing me toward the end of the pasture. Luckily, she felt I had been sufficiently scared me off after about 30 ft, and let me run unassisted to the gate and over and out of the field. Definitely the first of many such bucolic adventures that I believe are in store for me this next year!!!

The Cow Pasture....and my running trail, see it?

The little one who was to prove my undoing

I must say that I thought this story hilarious and subsequently repeated it to all my English (and non-English friends) until one of them looked at me and said,  ” You know, we had three people die last year because of cows… I myself had a dangerous run in with some sheep the other day. You should probably be a bit more careful.” I have yet to go back to the cow pasture, but I did spot some sheep….I might try them out!

My next adventure?

Signing off for now. However I will be posting again tomorrow (or later today) because I need to make sure you all, REMEMBER, REMEMBER the 5th of NOVEMBER!!!

Neva

4 responses

  1. Cathi Lundy

    I found this entry very mooving. I am glad you are not sheepish 🙂

    November 12, 2011 at 7:35 am

    • From Audrey – Ha ha – just a little nudge!
      Matt – Did you go out for a big hamburger after your ran?
      From Gramma – I found this experience very moooving. It made me udder – whoops – shudder to think of “the little nudge”. Did you manage to avoid all the pies as you raced across the pasture? Are you making a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving? Or are you unable to go there at this time?
      From Sarah – Have a very Happy Thanksgiving!
      We will try snyping you . What is the best Calif time to call you?
      Big Love and Hugs from all.

      November 23, 2011 at 5:23 pm

  2. I want to see pictures of one of the worst winters in Brit history. Good thing you prepped for it in South Bend. Any ferocious ice storms? We had 50+ mph winds in Patagonia coupled with 38 degree temperatures. Also had sleet, hail, rain most of the time, and snow…mind you this is in their hottest summertime.

    Top that!!!!

    February 17, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  3. I experimented with looking at your site on my iphone and the design doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not really working with your web page.

    June 3, 2012 at 6:34 am

Leave a Reply

